Lucky Jim

Lucky JimRegarded by many as the finest, and funniest, comic novel of the twentieth century, Lucky Jim remains as trenchant, withering, and eloquently misanthropic as when it first scandalized readers in 1954 This is the story of Jim Dixon, a hapless lecturer in medieval history at a provincial university w

Changing Places

Changing PlacesAnyone intrigued by differences between American and British academic institutions will find this an amusing and accurate send up David Lodge, portraying two American and British professors who replace one another at their respective institutions, gives greed, pettiness, and pretense full rein.

The Idiot

The IdiotA portrait of the artist as a young woman A novel about not just discovering but inventing oneself The year is 1995, and email is new Selin, the daughter of Turkish immigrants, arrives for her freshman year at Harvard She signs up for classes in subjects she has never heard of, befriends her cha

Small World

Small WorldPhilip Swallow, Morris Zapp, Persse McGarrigle and the lovely Angelica are the jet propelled academics who are on the move, in the air and on the make in David Lodge s satirical Small World It is a world of glamorous travel and high excitement, where stuffy lecture rooms are swapped for lush corner

Stoner

StonerWilliam Stoner is born at the end of the nineteenth century into a dirt poor Missouri farming family Sent to the state university to study agronomy, he instead falls in love with English literature and embraces a scholar s life, so different from the hardscrabble existence he has known And yet as

Nice Work

Nice WorkWhen Vic Wilcox, MD of Pringle s engineering works, meets English lecturer Dr Robyn Penrose, sparks fly as their lifestyles and ideologies collide head on But, in time, both parties make some surprising discoveries about each other s worlds and about themselves.

The Marriage Plot

The Marriage PlotIt s the early 1980s the country is in a deep recession, and life after college is harder than ever In the caf s on College Hill, the wised up kids are inhaling Derrida and listening to the Talking Heads But Madeleine Hanna, dutiful English major, is writing her senior thesis on Jane Austen and

The Art of Fielding

The Art of FieldingAt Westish College, a small school on the shore of Lake Michigan, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for big league stardom But when a routine throw goes disastrously off course, the fates of five people are upended Henry s fight against self doubt threatens to ruin his future Colleg

Possession

PossessionPossession is an exhilarating novel of wit and romance, at once an intellectual mystery and triumphant love story It is the tale of a pair of young scholars researching the lives of two Victorian poets As they uncover their letters, journals, and poems, and track their movements from London to Yor

Dear Committee Members

Dear Committee MembersFinally, a novel that puts the pissed back into epistolary Jason Fitger is a beleaguered professor of creative writing and literature at Payne University, a small and not very distinguished liberal arts college in the midwest His department is facing draconian cuts and squalid quarters, while

A Separate Peace

A Separate PeaceAn American classic and great bestseller for over thirty years, A Separate Peace is timeless in its description of adolescence during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war.Set at a boys boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II,

The History Man

The History ManNovel Howard Kirk is the trendiest of radical tutors at a fashionable university campus A self appointed revolutionary hero, Howard always comes out on top And Malcolm Bradbury dissects him in this savagely funny novel that has been universally acclaimed as one of the masterpieces of the decade.

Loner

LonerAn Indie Next Selection of Independent Booksellers One of the most anticipated novels of the fall from New York magazine, Glamour, Lit Hub, Boston magazine, The Millions, and BookPageDavid Federman has never felt appreciated An academically gifted yet painfully forgettable member of his New Jerse

This Side of Paradise

This Side of ParadiseThis Side of Paradise, F Scott Fitzgerald s romantic and witty first novel, was written when the author was only twenty three years old This semi autobiographical story of the handsome, indulged, and idealistic Princeton student Amory Blaine received critical raves and catapulted Fitzgerald to ins

Loner

LonerAn Indie Next Selection of Independent Booksellers One of the most anticipated novels of the fall from New York magazine, Glamour, Lit Hub, Boston magazine, The Millions, and BookPageDavid Federman has never felt appreciated An academically gifted yet painfully forgettable member of his New Jerse

Bradstreet Gate

Bradstreet GateA tour de force debut about a campus murder for readers of Donna Tartt, Meg Wolitzer, and Jeffrey Eugenides Georgia, Charlie and Alice each arrive at Harvard with hopeful visions of what the future will hold But when, just before graduation, a classmate is found murdered on campus, they find themse